The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Rocco, Hvizsgyak, P.W., Ramon, PeaceBeToAll
5,982 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
1 members (1 invisible), 167 guests, and 48 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,388
Posts416,719
Members5,982
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
K
OP Offline
K
Hello All,

I decided to separate this thread from the one on the Chotki and the Jesus Prayer. One thing that many people have written about is the need for a spiritual advisor/father/director when learning about the Jesus Prayer. I have been praying the Jesus Prayer for a couple of years now, but I'd never had any advice from an advisor. I started out by reading several books but that's about it.
So I guess my questions are these:
1) How does one go about finding a Spiritual Advisor?
2) Have I been approaching this prayer wrong all along?

Looking forward to some advice.

In Christ,
Aaron

Aaron,

It depends how one is using the Jesus Prayer. If one is attemtping hesychasm, they should without a doubt be under the discipline of a spiritual elder. One could also question whether in todays conditions anyone but an experienced monastic should even consider the attempt.

If on the other hand one is simply using it as:
a form of contemplative prayer for 10-15 minutes at a time
or part of a prayer rule like the Optina Cell Rule:

or as a way of praying throughout the day during tasks that would not allow another form
then it is okay to proceed.

Bishop Kallistos has this to say: