The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Annapolis Melkites, Daniel Hoseiny, PaulV, ungvar1900, Donna Zoll
5,993 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
1 members (NathanJA), 395 guests, and 36 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,393
Posts416,749
Members5,993
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#324243 06/06/09 04:11 PM
OP Offline
I have been attending a UGCC parish for two years but have very limited experience with other Eastern Catholic churches and parishes. Ours is a very orthodox, traditional parish, with the Liturgy almost entirely in English.

A friend told me female acolytes are permitted in some Eastern churches. This would not be permitted in my parish, and I have never heard of it much less seen it. Can anyone enlighten me on the subject?

If this works as in the Latin Church, it is up to each bishop to decide if this is allowed within his jurisdiction and, of course, up to the pastor if he actually calls any girls/women into that service.

My 13 year old daughter has been an Altar Server for 4-5 years now. Bu then again, we are Latin Catholics in the Archdiocese of Los Angeles, probably not apples to apples with a traditional Ukrainian parish, even in the same area.

Shalom,
Memo

A
A
Several nitpicks
1) Acolyte is a specific term for (latin) instituted or (byzantine) ordained men. It is one of the minor orders.
2) Altar Server is the appropriate term for laypersons doing the acolyte's liturgical role