The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Irenaeus23, Al Masihi, Seavila777, MZbor, Lisa Korovainytsia
5563 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Fr. Al, 1 invisible), 90 guests, and 356 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
Papal Audience 10 November 2017
Upgraded Russian icon corner
Russian Greek Catholic Global Congress
OL EuroEast II (2007) Group
Portable Icon Screen
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics34,609
Posts411,057
Members5,563
Most Online2,716
Jun 7th, 2012
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Looking for a Host Family #366354
07/05/11 03:43 PM
07/05/11 03:43 PM
Virginia!
Administrator Offline OP

John
Administrator  Offline OP

John

Virginia!
The following e-mail was received at the website:

My name is James Kerr. I am a semi-retired teacher and I live in Troy, Illinois (Madison County.) For about ten years I have been working as a volunteer with American Councils for International Education, a non governmental organization in Washington, DC that places students who are selected in US Department of State programs These students spend a school year in a community in the United States as part of the State Dept. program. I have worked as a local coordinator in this program, visiting the students once a month at their high schools, making sure they are doing well, and working with their host families if there are issues of concern. This is NOT an exchange program for students whose families can afford to send them for a year abroad. These students are here as guests of the US Dept. of State and have qualified to be selected for their respective scholarships.

All of the students in this program are required to score well on an aptitude test, an English language test, and they have advanced through three rounds of interviews before being selected. All students come with full health insurance and all receive a monthly stipend to help with incidental expenses from the Dept. of State.