The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Galumph, Leon_C, Rocco, Hvizsgyak, P.W.
5,984 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 456 guests, and 39 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,389
Posts416,722
Members5,984
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#416614 01/02/17 01:48 PM
OP Offline
I'm trying my best to remain in the Catholic Church. I have been considering a move to the Orthodox church for many years. Some things keep me from going over but it's hard for me. I went from RC to attending Byzantine Catholic services to having my boys baptised and Chrismated there, to now staying at home and not attending any services at all.

My problem with my local Byzantine parish is that its all in Ukrainian, attended only by Ukrainians and even their website has removed the translation tool from Ukrainian to English so I could at least understand what services were going on and at what time.

I went to the local Russian Orthodox Church which is great. Even though it is all in Russian, it seems to be attended by lots of different ethnic groups including Irish converts. On top of this it feels more like a ''mission'' rather than a respite for the homesick who want to gather together and celebrate their ''church'' and their ''culture''.

I don't know what to do because right now its hard for me to convert as the papacy and reading all those quotes on it from the early fathers is whats keeping me from making the jump into Orthodoxy.