The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Galumph, Leon_C, Rocco, Hvizsgyak, P.W.
5,984 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 456 guests, and 39 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,389
Posts416,722
Members5,984
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#418029 02/26/18 02:27 AM
F
Fr. Al Offline OP
OP Offline
F
I may have asked this before. I am an amateur linguist, who has dabbled in every Eastern European language from Finnish in the North to Greek in the South. I am unaware of the St. John Chrysostom Liturgy being translated either into Slovenian or either of the two Wendish/Serbian languages of Germany. It's quite possible that the Serbian church has done a Slovenian translation. I have yet to see it.

Originally Posted by Fr. Al
I may have asked this before. I am an amateur linguist, who has dabbled in every Eastern European language from Finnish in the North to Greek in the South. I am unaware of the St. John Chrysostom Liturgy being translated either into Slovenian or either of the two Wendish/Serbian languages of Germany. It's quite possible that the Serbian church has done a Slovenian translation. I have yet to see it.

I think you may have Sorbian [en.wikipedia.org] in mind. No, I'm not aware of any translations.

While not Eastern European, one of my favourite translations is into Anglish: The Worshipform of Hl. Johannes Chrysostomos [anglish.wikia.com].

F
Fr. Al Offline OP
OP Offline
F