The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Rocco, Hvizsgyak, P.W., Ramon, PeaceBeToAll
5,982 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
1 members (1 invisible), 167 guests, and 48 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,388
Posts416,719
Members5,982
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#374789 01/25/12 04:45 PM
novice O.Carm.
OP Offline
novice O.Carm.
I have a request. Many of you out there are very knowledgeable.

As some of you are aware, I am a Byzantine Ruthenian Catholic who is in formation with the Carmelites. I am currently in my second year of theology studies for ordination. I am in my fourth year of simple vows (God willing solemn vows will be taken this coming August).

My formation is in the Roman Church though I do get out to the Divine Liturgy on Sundays when I am feeling well (as many of you know I have cancer). This coming weekend I will speak with the priest who is also a professor at one of the theology schools here in DC (not one that I attend).

I am currently attending WTU but that school is closing at the end of this semester and I will be transferring to Catholic University next year.

Now having said all that. I was wondering if any one could suggest any theology books or any other books that you feel could help me in my formation as a bi-ritual priest.

I have The Mystical Theology of the Eastern Church by Valdimr Lossky, is that a good start?

Thanks for any assistance.

Br David, O.Carm.

Last edited by DavidB, the Byzantine Catholic; 01/25/12 04:47 PM.
Byzantine Theology [amazon.com] by Fr. John Meyendorff is a standard book.