The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Galumph, Leon_C, Rocco, Hvizsgyak, P.W.
5,984 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 238 guests, and 46 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,389
Posts416,722
Members5,984
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#413932 12/07/15 06:40 AM
AntonI Offline OP
OP Offline
Emerging from the catacombs of darkness into the light...

Anyhow, I recently returned from my first ever holiday in Italy (I started learning Italian two years ago) and I had an awesome time.

I was mostly based in Rome but I took a few day trips away to Tivili (ended up crashing an Italian period drama charting the de Medici dynasty starring Dustin Hoffman and I was not invited to become an extra. I am still sad) and Orvieto. All I can say is that I walked over 30 miles or 50km during my holiday. Probably partly counterbalancing all the food and wine .

On the first day, I decided that I would do the Vatican so I did all the usual things (went around the Museums twice because there was so much to see!). The Sistine Chapel was beautiful but surprisingly small. After walking for around six hours, I foolishly decided to walk to the top of St Peters. THE PAIN. However, the view from the cuppola was amazing - I took a video on my phone and it was awesome - sunny clear blue skies. It was really nice to see the Tomb of St Peter and be present during a German Mass that was going on. However, whilst the cathedral was beautiful I didn't really get the "feel" for it. It felt too touristy.