The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
Eala, Halogirl5, MarianLatino, Bosconian_Jin, MissionIn
6,001 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
1 members (San Nicolas), 308 guests, and 36 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,400
Posts416,783
Members6,001
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
P
OP Offline
P
Hello, and I am new to this forum. I am a Lutheran pastor for 28 years. I bought an Orthodox study Bible a couple months ago and discovered something I’m concerned about and have also concern regarding some info shared on this site. The study Bible and some on this forum do not have the true understanding of what Lutherans believe about the Lord’s Supper (Holy Communion, Eucharist). Lutherans believe that Jesus is bodily present in the bread and wine of Holy Communion. Most “Protestants” believe in a spiritual presence only. However, Martin Luther’s position was this: Jesus is bodily present in the bread and wine because he said so—This IS my Body; This IS my Blood. We do not believe that Jesus needs the philosophy of Aristotle or St. Thomas to explain why. This cancels out transubstantiation. Also, the priest is not the one who brings this about. Only repeating what Jesus said is the substantive cause. Luther called it the mystery of the communion of attributes. Christ is able to make it so. I have always been taught this from my baptism in 1956 and at seminary. I feel that there needs to be a correction to this error in the minds of the Orthodox community. My only clue as to how this error came about is that Roman Catholics were so inundated with being accus